Early Years

Born in Anaco, Venezuela, John grew up in South America, the US, Africa, Europe, and the UK. As a lad, John played in various groups in Europe, England, and the US. In the 80s, he played guitar and sang in the Los Angeles-based progressive rock trio Helios with Dave Veirs and Tony Betino.

In 1989, John worked on demos for the rock album Lost In My Dreams. This album was not released, but marked the beginning of OtterSong Records. In the 90s John performed at venues in California and composed material for new projects...

OtterSong Records and Atmospheric Music

2000 saw the release of Underwater Flying Lessons on OtterSong Records, followed up by A Sense of Impending Levitation (2004), The Corridors of Time (2007), and The Dream Exchange (2013) on Atmospheric Music. John partnered with Russian composer Alex Tiuniaev on the ambient rock project Garden Hose Universe (2006), releasing the EP Falling. John has also produced and released albums for other artists on the OtterSong label.

Film Work

John has written the score and created original soundtrack music for several films, documentaries, and multimedia projects. He is also involved in cinematography, production, and editing and is the founder of multimedia production company BasisMedia Communication.

The latest release from John Luttrell is The Dream Exchange.

This album features John prominently on guitar with acoustic and electric ambient instrumental tracks that follow the theme of the album – the exchange of dreams.

“Throughout our lives we share our dreams with family and friends, and they share their dreams with us. If we're lucky we can help them activate and achieve their dreams and also work on achieving our own. How wonderful it is to experience and share in this Dream Exchange.”

- John Luttrell, April 2014

Release date: May 15, 2015
Album: The Dream Exchange
Artist: John Luttrell
Recorded at: OtterSong Studios, Orange County, CA

Description: Atmospheric, new age, ambient instrumental with prog rock elements

Track Listing: