Conception Return With A Few Surprises After 21 Year Hiatus

According to the band’s website

Norwegian hard rock band is known for melodic and rhythmic music of a unique, powerful, yet dynamic blend, with influences from flamenco, jazz, and classical music. was formed in 1989 with Roy Khan, vocals, Tore Østby, guitar, Ingar Amlien, bass, and Arve Heimdal, drums.

Active 1989-1997 with tours in Europe and Japan. Reunited for three shows in 2005: co-headlining Prog Power in Atlanta, also headlining shows in Rockefeller in Oslo and their hometown Gjøvik.

After the release of Flow Roy Khan joined American melodic metal band Kamelot, Tore formed progressive metal band ARK, Ingar focused on his black metal band Crest of Darkness and Arve recorded with Norwegian blues-rock band Nickels and Dimes and progressive band Glow.

Conception Discography
1991 The Last Sunset
1993 Parallel Minds
1995 In Your Multitude
1997 Flow

According to the bands Instagram page
After a break from releasing of (just!) 21 years, we’re super excited to share our new single package re:conception with you all today.
P.S. Thanks to everyone for your support. Some of you who pre-ordered might just be in for an early surprise treat 😉

Re:Conception Single Buy Now Links

Also to be released soon is the My Dark Symphony EP

On April 1, 2018, Roy Khan released a song on YouTube called “For All”, leading many fans to speculate in an upcoming return to music. The speculations were proven true a few weeks later when Conception announced their reunion with Khan returning as lead singer.

Both Re:Conception Single and My Dark Symphony EP are available on CD, LP, as well as Digital and features the return of Roy Kahn to music, Roy left in 2011 after working with Kamelot on 7 releases.

Conception Online

Listen to 3 new tracks on Spotify

New Album Update From Labyrinth


Labyrinth are currently working hard on the songwriting for their highly anticipated comeback album, which is planned for release on Frontiers Music Srl in 2017.

“We have written, so far, seven complete songs which we are very pleased with,” says guitar player Olaf Thorsen. “We have some very heavy and fast songs and a few more proggy and melodic. We will end up writing 10 or 11 songs for the new album. We think we know what the fans are expecting from us and I am absolutely confident that everyone will love the new songs. There are lots of killer melodies and the sound will be definitely and recognizably 100% Labyrinth!”

LABYRINTH’s reunion line-up features founding members Olaf Thorsen and Andrea Cantarelli on guitars and the return of Roberto Tiranti on lead vocals along with none other than John Macaluso (Yngwie Malmsteen, James Labrie, Riot, Symphony X, Starbreaker, TNT and ARK) on drums, Oleg Smirnoff (Eldritch, Vision Divine, Death SS) on keyboards, and Nik Mazzucconi on bass.

“The new line-up is stronger than ever!” continues Olaf. “Me, Andrea and Roberto are enthusiastic for the contributions that the new guys are bringing to the band and their style will certainly enhance the Labyrinth sound and bring it into 2016 and beyond!”

LABYRINTH first show with this new line-up will be at the Frontiers Metal Festival at the Live Music Club in Trezzo Sull’Adda on October 30th. The band will be exclusively playing their entire hit album “Return to Heaven Denied” plus a few more fan favorites!

More international shows are planned for next year in support of the release of the new album.