Maiden uniteD to Release Empire of the Clouds

Looking back at the best show we could ever wish for at The Royal Theatre of Amsterdam, last January 27th, Maiden uniteD decided to go into the studio to record the track ‘Empire of the Clouds’.
This new release will be released June 8th as 12” vinyl EP, digi-sleeve CD with a bonus disc and in digital format on all major download and streaming platforms. It contains the full story of the Silver Ghost, the R101: tragedy, hopes, and dreams…

The Sailors of the Sky are:
Vocals: Wudstik (For All We Know, Ayreon)
Guitar: Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation, For All We Know)
Bass: Joey Bruers (Up The Irons)
Piano: Huub van Loon (The Ultraverse)
Cello: Perttu Kivilaakso (Apocalyptica)
Hammond: Thijs Schrijnemakers (Orgel Vreten)
Drums: Mike Coolen (Within Temptation)
Narrator: Edward Reekers (Kayak, Ayreon)

Tracklist Vinyl edition:
Side A: Empire Of The Clouds Part 1 & 2
Side B: Empire Of The Clouds Part 3 & 4

Tracklist CD edition:
CD: Empire Of The Clouds Part 1, 2, 3 & 4
Bonus disc: Empire Of The Clouds Part 2, 3 & 4 (Live in Carré, Amsterdam) + Killers (ft. Wudstik on vocals)

Pre-order now at:

Arjen A. Lucassen Annouances Ayreon Universe

What is Ayreon Universe?

Ayreon Universe is Ayreon live in concert for the first time ever, organized and arranged by Arjen A. Lucassen and Joost van den Broek.


Ayreon Universe is happening September 15 & 16 at the 013 venue in Tilburg, featuring a special appearance by Arjen Lucassen. Ayreonauts take notice and mark September 15 and 16 of 2017 in your calendars! These are the days that you can experience AYREON LIVE for the first time ever! There will be no less than 16 original Ayreon singers including backing vocals, as well as a hand-picked band of 8 of the best instrumentalists.The Ayreon Universe set list features selected songs from all Ayreon albums plus a selection of Star One songs.

Arjen will make a special appearance performing live on stage.
Floor Jansen – Nightwish
Russell Allen – Symphony X
Damian Wilson – Threshold
Hansi Kürsch – Blind Guardian
Tommy Karevik – Kamelot
Anneke van Giersbergen – The Gentle Storm
Marco Hietala – Nightwish
Jonas Renkse – Katatonia
Mike Mills – Toehider
Marcela Bovio – Stream of Passion
Irene Jansen – Ayreon
Robert Soeterboek – Star One
Edward Reekers – Kayak
Jan van Feggelen – Ayreon
Magali Luyten – Nightmare
Lisette van den Berg – Scarlet Stories
Ed Warby – Drums
Johan van Stratum – Bass
Marcel Coenen – Lead guitar
Ferry Duijsens – Guitar
Joost van den Broek – Keyboards
Ben Mathot – Violin
Jeroen Goossens – Flutes, woodwinds
Maaike Peterse – Cello


Kayak to Release New Album in 2017


Ton Scherpenzeel is writing and preparing a new Kayak album, scheduled for release in 2017. Being the band’s 17th official studio effort since the beginning, ’17’ has been chosen as the project’s working title. The quest for lead vocalist(s) is well underway and has already produced some interesting names.

Though there still are a few challenging bridges that need to be crossed before the new album will see the light of day, things are really looking positive. More news and updates can be expected these coming weeks and months!

Members: Past & Present
Ton Scherpenzeel, Pim Koopman, Max Werner, Edward Reekers, Cindy Oudshoorn, Johan Slager, Rob Vunderink, Joost Vergoossen, Jan van Olffen, Hans Eijkenaar, Peter Scherpenzeel, Irene Linders, Katie Lapthorn, Rob Winter, Bert Heerink, Theo de Jong, Charles Schouten, Cees van Leeuwen, Bert Veldkamp

Studio Albums

  • See See the Sun (1973)
  • Kayak II (1974)
  • Royal Bed Bouncer (1975)
  • The Last Encore (1976)
  • Starlight Dancer (1977)
  • Phantom of the Night (1978)
  • Periscope Life (1980)
  • Merlin (1981)
  • Close To The Fire (2000)
  • Night Vision (2001)
  • Merlin – Bard Of The Unseen (2003)
  • Nostradamus – The Fate Of Man (2005) (Double CD) / Excerpts From Nostradamus (2005) (Single CD)
  • Coming Up For Air (2008)
  • Letters From Utopia (2009) CD Cover Art by George Grie
  • Anywhere But Here (2011)
  • Cleopatra – The Crown Of Isis (2014)

Live Albums

  • Eyewitness (1981) (“Live” studio album)
  • Chance For A Livetime (2001) (Double CD)
  • Kayakoustic (2007)
  • The Anniversary Concert (2008) (Double CD + ‘Highlights’ DVD)
  • The Anniversary Box (2008) (4 CD + DVD)

Follow Kayak
Official Website