Deerhoof to release The “Children of Hoof Music Library 25th Anniversary Cassette Box Set”

Announcing a new, incredible art object from Deerhoof. The “Children of Hoof Music Library 25th Anniversary Cassette Box Set” is an elaborate art piece canonizing the first quarter-century of output from one of the world’s best and most unique bands. The collection contains cassette editions of each of the 15 studio albums Deerhoof has recorded since their inception on April 5, 1994 (full album list below).

In addition to the 15 studio albums, Deerhoof is also releasing a new album as a part of this box set. Surprise Symphonies is a 59 minute collection of b-sides and rarities from the first 25 years of Deerhoof. 

Here are some additional details:

  • Packaged in a custom-built and hand-screen-printed wooden box set. 
  • Features new re-imagined artwork for each album, pressed on just about every possible color of cassette shells. 
  • Includes full-color art booklet, and custom Deerhoof pencil / cassette-winder (which is also a perfect instrument to complete the career-spanning word search included in the booklet).
  • Each copy is hand-numbered out of only 250 copies. 
  • Includes download card of all 16 albums in high-quality MP3, and a variety of lossless formats (WAV, AIFF, etc.). 

Albums included:
The Man, the King, the Girl (1997) – Light Blue shell color.  
Holdypaws (1999) – White shell color.
Halfbird (2001) – Light Pink shell color. 
Reveille (2002) – Magenta shell color. 
Apple O’ (2003) – Light Blue shell color. 
Milk Man (2004) – Yellow shell color. 
Green Cosmos (2005) – Light Blue shell color. 
The Runners Four (2005) – Grey shell color. 
Friend Opportunity (2007) – Yellow shell color. 
Offend Maggie (2008) – Grey shell color. 
Deerhoof vs. Evil (2011) – Lime Green shell color. 
Breakup Song (2012) – Orange shell color. 
La Isla Bonita (2014) – Brown shell color. 
The Magic (2016) – Purple shell color. 
Mountain Moves (2017) – Light Blue shell color. 
Surprise Symphonies (2020) – Light Blue shell color. 

25 years of Deerhoof’s musical output, released as nature intended: with tape hiss. 
–Greg Saunier

“The irony of doing a pristine box set of our complete studio albums is of course that nothing about the music was ever pristine or complete in the first place. Sometimes when feeling particularly pretentious, I call upon bonus-round vocabulary words like “wabi-sabi” to justify our rough, imperfect, incomplete style as some sort of aesthetic principle. Well, it sort of is and it sort of isn’t. Reality has dictated since day one that we make our records on as little budget as possible, usually $0. That of course is not counting the cost to sanity that the months and sometimes years of labor that goes into making each of them that is exacted from our psyches. Thus has our economical style actually come about by accident.

And yet what fun it has always been to project our modest thingamabobs into the ears and hearts and minds of others, and discover that indeed how could they ever be but incomplete when those ears and hearts and minds are doing such magnificent work interpreting them. You complete our music. We have the best fans in the universe!”

– Greg Saunier


Follow Deerhoof on the web:

Mike Adams At His Honest Weight announces his fourth album, There Is No Feeling Better.

This new one, from our favorite Bloomington, Indiana native, is the kind of record you can make only after really knowing how to make records. It’s ambitious, but never labored sounding, sweeping but always intimate. All the qualities that have made the Adams songbook such a joyful collection to engage with—the witticism of 2011’s Oscillate Wisely, the playful experimentalism of 2014’s Best of Boiler Room Classics, the gigantic melodies of 2016’s Casino Drone—are on display here yet again, but they feel heightened, deeper, funnier, sweeter, and more resonant.

  1. Pressing Mesh
  2. Do You One Better
  3. Free & Reduced
  4. Wonderful To Love
  5. That’s One Way
  6. Educated Guess
  7. No Feeling Better
  8. Datsun Dashes
  9. Olivia
  10. I Need You
  11. So Faded

Listen to the first track & single 

“Best I can tell, Pressing Mesh is about fighting to remain hopeful in the face of seemingly endless bad news and confusion. My pea brain is easily overwhelmed by details and ambiguity. I’m singing here about trying to find my Moral Denominator, so I can cut through the mess and build my thoughts on a positive, trustworthy, foundation.” says Mike Adams. 

  • VIP Limited Edition Vinyl + Digital: $ 20.00Limited to 300 pressed to bone & black a-side/b-side colored vinyl. VIP bundle includes bonus cassette with demo versions of the album. Includes a 14 page booklet with lyrics and chord charts. Instant download of first single “Pressing Mesh” with full album in high quality MP3 + WAV sent before 06/14.
  • Black Vinyl + Digital: $ 15.00Insert includes a 14 page booklet with lyrics and chord charts. Includes instant download of first single “Pressing Mesh” with full album in high quality MP3 + WAV sent before 06/14.
  • CD + Digital: $ 10.00Insert includes a 14 page booklet with lyrics and chord charts. Includes instant download of first single “Pressing Mesh” with full album in high quality MP3 + WAV sent before 06/14.
  • Digital: $ 8.00Includes a 14 page booklet with lyrics and chord charts [PDF download sent with full album]. Instant download of first single “Pressing Mesh” with full album in high quality MP3 + WAV sent before 06/14.


Announcing: Joyful Noise Holiday Party Vol. 1 “Snowflathe Series”

Christmas music is usually the worst… But we’re trying to change that.

Last weekend we hosted the annual Joyful Noise holiday party at our headquarters in Indianapolis, Indiana. However, this year we did something a little different: we invited our artists to join the party, and record holiday songs on-site.

Artists such as Yoni Wolf, Richard Edwards, Oneida, Dumb Numbers, Jad Fair and others showed up to the party and recorded exclusive holiday songs that we are releasing on snowflake-shaped 7″ lathe-cut records (aka “Snowflathes”).

Each release is limited to just 100 copies and is hand-made by us here at JNR. Each purchase includes a digital download of ALL NINE tracks, and 100% of the net proceeds will go to benefit The Fund for Global Human Rights.

If you’d prefer a digital-only option, you can donate/download over at BANDCAMP.
Here’s the track-listing:

Dumb Numbers – “X-Mas Time in the Mountains” (Palace cover)
Oneida – “Christmas with the Freaks”
Sedcairn Archives – “Flake Drem”
Richard Edwards – “Jesus Christ” (Big Star cover)
Jad Fair – “The Snow Day”
Psychic Temple – “We Got to Have Peace” (Curtis Mayfield cover)
Yoni Wolf – “Rock of Ages” (Christian hymn)
Stranger Cat – “All I Want For Christmas Is You” (Mariah Carey cover)
Bobby Burg – “Little Bobby Boy”

About The Fund for Global Human Rights:

Since 2003, the Fund for Global Human Rights has had one goal: to move human rights forward by providing resources and tools to the people and organizations on the ground who have real potential to generate transformational change, with a focus on the most vulnerable—women and children, racial, ethnic and religious minorities, and LGBTI people—because they bear the brunt of violence and discrimination and have the most to gain from transformational change.

The Fund for Global Human Rights amplifies the critical work of frontline human rights activists by providing funds, training and mentoring, and opportunities for collaboration to help these courageous individuals and organizations make real progress.
Have a good holiday y’all. We love you.
<3 JNR