Bad Elephant Music is delighted to announce the release of Shadows, the new album from Swedish progressive rock ensemble Introitus, on June 14th 2019.

The long-awaited sequel to 2014’s critically acclaimed album AnimaShadows sees the band honing their trademark contemporary progressive sound.

Introitus mix their Swedish folk heritage and elements of traditional progressive rock to create a unique musical sound.

Anna from Introitus said: “Introitus has always been well received by the UK progressive rock audience, so releasing our new album Shadows at BEM feels like coming home for us”

“It’s lovely to welcome Introitus to the BEM family”, says David Elliott, BEM’s Label Manager. “I’ve been in contact with Anna and Mats since seeing them play at Summer’s End a few years back.Progressive rock mixed with folk elements has always been one of my favourite combinations, andthis is a band that does it really well”.

Shadows will be released on CD and download, with pre-orders available soon.

Formed in Sweden in 1999 by keyboard player and composer Mats Bender, Introitus are very much a family affair, with Mats’ wife Anna on vocals, and their son Mattias on drums with daughter Johanna on chorus vocals. They are joined by Par Helje on lead guitar andDennis Lindkvist on bass and new member (and partner of Mattias) Linnea Syrjala joining them on flutes, accordion and additional keyboards.

They have previously released three acclaimed albums 2007’s FantasyElements in 2011 and their most recent release Anima from 2014. Their performance at the Summer’s Endfestival in 2015 was widely acclaimed.

Their first release on Bad Elephant Music, Shadows, will see Introitus picking up where they left off with Anima, introducing somewhat darker elements into the music. They mix the wind, and the magic mystery of wild forests of Sweden with hints of 70s progressive rock as they push their musical limits.

Anna had this to say: “The Bad Elephant Music team has from the start been warm and helpful, making our choice for unleashing Shadows on the world an easy one. Releasing our new album with BEM and in the UK feels like coming home for us!”

  1. Belong
  2. Shadows
  3. Beyond Fantasy
  4. Desperation
  5. Figures
  6. My Hero
  7. Awakening

Mats Bender: keyboards
Anna Jobs Bender: lead vocals
Pär Helje: guitar
Mattias Bender: drums and vocals
Dennis Lindkvist: bass
Linnéa Syrjälä: accordian, ocarina, chalumeau and vocals

Martin Jobs: vocal on ‘My Hero’Johanna Bender: vocals
Helena Tenstam: flutes

Recorded, produced and mixed by Mats Bender. Mastered by David Elliott.