COLOSSEUM was formed in the very late 60ies by Jon Hiseman and Dick Heckstall-Smith. They are a British progressive rock / jazz-rock band. Their first album “Those Who Are About To Die Salute You” was released in 1969. The band has worked with many other bands and musicians like Eric Clapton, Led Zeppelin or Jack Bruce at the time.

The band’s history shows a lot of changes regarding the members and they also split for 23 years between 1971 and 1994.

Their first reunion happened in 1994 and they have performed at some festivals in the years that followed, but it took them nearly ten years to record another album in 2003. Sadly, Dick Heckstall-Smith died in 2004 and was eventually replaced by Barbara Thompson.

After Jon Hiseman’s death in 2018, the future of the band was at stake again but COLOSSEUM decided to carry on in 2020, which is their second reunion. The band is also working on a new album. Dave Clempson from the early days is still part of the band and Malcolm Mortimore (who played with Gentle Giant and others) plays drums.

COLOSSEUM will perform on Sunday, 19th July 2020

Chris Farlowe – vocals
Clem Clempson – guitar
Mark Clarke – bass guitar
Adrian Askew – Hammond organ and keys
Malcolm Mortimore – drums
Kim Nishikawara – saxophone