Gryphon are a British progressive rock band return with first ne studio album in 41 tears, formed in the 1970s, and best known for their unusual medieval and Renaissance sound and instrumentation. The band briefly flourished in the progressive rock heyday of the early 1970s, and then retired to other musical activities before reforming for a one-off reunion in 2009. Subsequently, Gryphon played some gigs in 2015, featured at the Cropredy Festival in 2016, and in 2017, an invitation to a ProgRock festival in Portugal, and in the UK, the NewDay Festival near Canterbury.

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Pipe Up Downsland Derry Dell Danko (4:49)
2. Rhubarb Crumhorn (5:56)
3. A Futuristic Auntyquarian (5:58)
4. Haddocks’ Eyes (10:58)
5. Hampton Caught (5:12)
6. Hospitality At A Price… Anyone For? (3:11)
7. Dumbe Dum Chit (3:08)
8. Bathsheba (5:37)
9. Sailor V (8:37)
10. Ashes (3:32)
11. The Euphrates Connection (4:43)
12. Bonus Track

Line-up / Musicians

Graeme Taylor / acoustic & electric guitars, producer
Graham Preskett / violin, mandolin, keyboards, harmonica
Brian Gulland / bassoon, bass crumhorn, baritone sax, recorders, piano, vocalizations
Andrew Findon / flute, piccolo, fife, soprano crumhorn, soprano sax, clarinet
Rory McFarlane / electric & double basses
Dave Oberlé / drums, percussion, vocals

Releases information

Artwork: John Hurford

CD was self-released on August 17, 2018, in the UK

According Chri Topham at Plane Groovy, Another huge announcement today; the wonderful new album from Gryphon”Reinvention” will be released on Plane Groovy, hopefully just before Christmas. We’ve been given a priority manufacturing slot for this one. Double heavyweight vinyl, strictly limited to just 300 copies worldwide. There is one bonus track in addition to the CD version. Orders through Burning Shed will come with a download code too. We *might* be making a small number of these colored if so it will be just 100 copies. I expect pre-ordering to go live next week and details will be finalized before then

Plane Groovy Links

Please feel free to share this message; let’s spread the word!

Gryphon Links