SOEN, the dynamic, mercurial, and titanic Swedish progressive metal supergroup, have decided to re-release their first two albums, Cognitive and Tellurian, via Silver Lining Music on January 27, 2023 – reviving these benchmark steps in the band’s progression. The re-issues are available to pre-order now via D2C at Soen.Shop, whilst traditional retail pre-orders are at this location.

These are the official Soen-endorsed releases; bringing their entire catalog to one label for the first time!

Reinterpreted as a live orchestral composition, the melodically haunting “Savia” from the debut LP Cognitive also appears in Soen’s most recent release ATLANTIS, the special concert film featuring the group’s most popular compositions. Watch/Listen to the recently released “Savia” at this location

Cognitive will enjoy a first-ever vinyl release, which will include the bonus track “Written”, as well as full lyrics. Tellurian, currently out of print, will also be reissued on vinyl. 

Cognitive saw drummer Martin Lopez (Opeth, Amon Amarth), vocalist Joel Ekelöf (Willowtree), bassist Steve DiGiorgio (Sadus, Testament), and guitarist Kim Platbarzdis create what Lopez described as “melodic, heavy and intricate” songs which illustrated the scope, range and power potential Soen held. They would further develop those sensibilities and expand upon those dimensions with Tellurian, which saw Stefan Stenberg coming in on bass, and the deeper, richer melodies alongside personal performances which pushed the limits of excellence, have seen the initially-limited release album establish itself as a core album for Soen and their fans. Both albums were produced by the Grammy Award-winning Dave Bottrill, who has worked with Peter Gabriel, Tool, Smashing Pumpkins, and Muse.

Always provocative, engaging, and ultimately a deeply entertaining experience, having these two rich and vital pieces of Soen’s story released under Silver Lining Music represents a moment of principal importance to the band. Every recorded chapter of their career thus far is finally in one officially endorsed home, with future chapters to come on Silver Lining Music.

Soen are currently touring North America, for a full list of confirmed dates, tickets, and additional information visit this location

IMPERIAL North America Tour 2022:

COGNITIVE and TELLURIAN will be available as Gatefold double vinyl releases, with artwork and packaging curated by Martin Lopez. A limited-edition “Black Friday” bundle featuring extended liner notes signed by Martin Lopez and Joel Ekelöf is available to pre-order here until stock lasts.

Soen is:

Martin Lopez, Drums & Percussion
Joel EkelöfLead Vocals
Lars Enok ÅhlundGuitars & Piano
Cody Lee FordLead Guitar
Oleksii ”Zlatoyar” KobelBass