New dOG Records to Release “Once Only” Debut Album by International Progressive Ambient Ensemble Eternal Return – Release Date: 2/23/21


The international progressive ambient ensemble Eternal Return is a five-piece combining various duos/trios that have previously recorded and toured together. Notably, Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree, NoMan, O.R.k.) on bass with his frequent collaborator, Estonian guitarist Robert Jürjendal (Toyah Wilcox, Fripp’s Crafty Guitar School). At the heart of the band is Dogon, the duo of Miguel Noya, (Venezuelan keyboard pioneer, Phantom Limb Recordings) and Paul Godwin, (California-based composer/singer and NEWdOG founder). Dogon have been widely celebrated and aired since the late ‘90s – “the best of progressive ambient”- WIRED Magazine. Holding down this aerial act is Miguel Toro, Venezuelan-born, Berlin-based drummer (Royal Dust.) 

Once Only

The debut album was recorded in Berlin last year by Bob Spencer at The Famous Gold Watch Studio (a former munitions factory and Stasi HQ) and mixed at Pete Townsend’s Grand Cru boat studio in London’s St. Katherine’s Docks by Jonathon Hucks. The album is concerned with “nomadism,” inspired by Noya’s status as part of Venezuelan economic and political diaspora. Musically siting seminal progressive ambient-jazz-pop influences such as Talk Talk’s “Spirit of Eden” and David Sylvian’s solo work, the album is something fresh, darkly mysterious and beguiling. 

Track Listing:

1. Nomad
2. The Void
3. The Triggering Town
4. A Medium-Sized Village
5. The Bottom of the Pond
6. The Sky 

Paul Godwin
NEW dOG Records
[email protected]