Magenta Launch Pre-orders for the new album “Masters of Illusion” via Tigermoth Records

Magenta follows up 2017s much-praised “We Are Legend” with a brand new studio album “Masters of Illusion”. The 60-minute album consists of six songs, including the 17-minute title track. The album’s theme is based around the lives of six famous horror actors of the 1950s and 1960s. Lyricist Steve Reed:

‘My brother and I are both huge fans of the classic Hammer and Universal horror films. I remember as a kid watching the horror double bills on Saturday nights on BBC2 with great fondness. We were looking for a concept for the new album and came up with the idea of basing the songs on some of our favorite actors. The twist is that the stories are about their private lives rather than the characters they portrayed in their films.’ Robert Reed:

‘After making the ‘We Are Legend’ album, which was more contemporary, I really wanted to make a classic PROG album. I was desperate to get back to the original musical template of what Magenta was all about. So there are lots of Moog and guitar solos, 12 string guitar, Mellotrons, and bass pedals, but always with melodies. The song is always king!’ The standard release will feature a CD along with a DVD featuring a 5.1 surround mix of the album, video promos, and interviews.


2. A Gift From God
3.Reach For the Moon
4. Snow
5. The Rose
6. Masters of Illusion

Sample Masters of Illusion Here

Also exclusively available from the Magenta shop will be a limited edition V.I.P. Package.

This will include the regular CD/DVD along with a pack of 6 album art Postcards and a special bonus Magenta CD, ‘The Lost Reel’ which is presented in a reproduction mini film canister and will feature 74 minutes of alternative mixes from the new album plus some remixes from the back catalog.

Magenta Online