Bad Elephant Music is proud to announce that they will be releasing ‘Why The Sea Is Salt’, the third album from London progressive rock band The Gift on 28th October 2016.

‘Why The Sea Is Salt’ consists of six superbly crafted songs, including one bona-fide epic in ‘All These Things’. As always the emphasis is on melody and lyricism, with the core writing team now bolstered by the return of founder member Leroy James and by classical pianist Gabriele Baldocci. Mike Morton’s heartfelt lyrics are at the fore, with themes including love, loss, rampant materialism and the nature of the sea.

The album is also graced by stellar guest performances from ex-Genesis guitarists Steve Hackett and Anthony Phillips, and by Tiger Moth Tales and Red Bazar multi-instrumentalist Peter Jones. The album was mixed by Dave Lloyd, and mastered by Daniel Bowles at Seren Sounds. The sumptuous design is the work of internationally renowned artist Mark Buckingham.


1. At Sea
2. Sweeper Of Dreams
3. Tuesday’s Child
4. The Tallest Tree
5. All These Things
6. At Sea – Reprise (Ondine’s Song)


Mike Morton – lead vocals
Dave Lloyd – guitars and backing vocals
Leroy James – guitars and backing vocals
Gabriele Baldocci – keyboards
Stefan Dickers – bass
Neil Hayman – drums and percussion
Guest musicians on ‘The Tallest Tree’:
Anthony Phillips – 12-string guitar
Steve Hackett – lead guitar
Peter Jones – Irish whistle
All songs written, arranged and produced by The Gift
Recorded at The Facilty, May-July 2016
Mixed by Dave Lloyd
Mastered by Daniel Bowles at Seren Sound Suite

Cover paintings, illustrations and band logo © Mark Buckingham

All pre-orders of the compact disc will come with an exclusive postcard featuring the album cover design, and signed by the band on the reverse. You also get ‘Sweeper of Dreams’ to download immediately.