The New Blackfield Album “V” will be Delayed till January 20th 2017

Photo credit: Hajo Müller

Unfortunately the release of the new Blackfield album has been delayed, and Kscope have rescheduled it for 20th January. We apologise profusely for this, but it is due to circumstances beyond our control. Frustrating though it is, hopefully when you hear the album you will agree it was worth the wait! In the meantime we hope to bring you more audio and video preview material from the finished album soon.

There will be a gatefold vinyl edition (on 2 LPs cut at 45rpm for maximum quality), a standard CD, and a deluxe CD/Blu-Ray edition. The Blu-Ray includes the album in both high resolution stereo and 5.1 surround sound. There are also copies of a limited single vinyl picture disc edition, not recommended for an audiophile experience, but it does highlight Lasse Hoile‘s very beautiful cover photography, and makes a nice collectors item.

According to Wilson:
I’m very proud of this album, it might be our best yet, a flowing collection of 13 tracks with a loose concept relating to the cycle of life, but with the emphasis on succinct melancholic songs and beautifully layered production, including three songs produced by Alan Parsons.

The 13 track album runs approximately 45 minutes, track listing as follows:


1. A Drop in the Ocean (1.23)
2. Family Man (3.37)
3. How Was Your Ride? (3.58)
4. We’ll Never Be Apart (2.54)
5. Sorrys (2.58)
6. Life is an Ocean (3.26)
7. Lately (3.24)
8. October (3.31)
9. The Jackal (3.56)
10. Salt Water (2.39)
11. Undercover Heart (4.02)
12. Lonely Soul (3.42)
13. From 44 to 48 (4.31)


Aviv Geffen and Steven Wilson together again for new BLACKFIELD release


Accoring to posts on facbook, Blackfield sees a return to the full partnership between Aviv Geffen and Steven Wilson this is what that made the first two albums such firm favourites with fans. Written and recorded over a period of 18 months in both Israel and England, Blackfield V contains 13 linked songs that form a flowing 45 minute ocean themed song cycle. With the pair expertly handling vocals, guitars, and keyboards, Tomer Z from the Blackfield band on drums, and string arrangements performed by the London Session Orchestra, the album is a powerful journey through catchy melodies, lush arrangements, and stunning production. Legendary producer / engineer Alan Parsons produced three of the album’s key tracks.

Both musicians consider Blackfield V to be their best collaboration to date. The album will be released by Kscope as a Digipack CD with a 16 page booklet, CD/Blu Ray with high resolution audio, and double vinyl.

Blackfield V Cover photography by Lasse Hoile.
BLACKFIELD V will be released on November 18th by Kscope