Kodiak Debuts With New Hard Rocker “Goodbye” Out On Worldsound/Awal

With imagery of rain in the sky and tears, Kodiak’s debut single GOODBYE is a driven and determined single about wanting to get to the root of a breakup based on misunderstanding.  The song makes you believe that love can heal all wounds, thanks to the Biggiani brothers– slamming drummer Pete and arousing guitarist Chris, along with supportive bassist TJ Haefner, and the passionate lead singer Eric Dalton.

“Everyone goes through this in their lives, including the four of us,” the band says about mending fences with a true love. Pete says all four of the band members wrote the song, starting on the guitar. “First Chris wrote the chorus riff. Then he and I both sit down and pieced the parts together. Then Eric who wrotes the lyrics & TJ the bass parts…” 

This NJ-based hard rock band is co-managed and produced by Carmine Appice, who chose Pete as the winner in his “Next Drum Prodigy” contest for his Realistic Rock For Kids DVD 10 years ago.  Now signed to WorldSound/AWal Entertainment, the group is releasing 3 singles this summer as they play festivals and make TV and radio appearances, plus live concerts, and get ready for an album later this year.

Kodiak have already turned heads with a number of hard rock/heavy metal legends VH1 / radio host Ed Trunk introduced the group, who played their first gig, opening for The Appice Brothers, at 2019’s Hall of Heavy Metal History Award Show Anaheim, California.  The group was compared to a young Van Halen!   

Links to listen to GOODBYE at: https://awal.lnk.to/GoodbyeKodiak


The Sea Within – launch lyric video for ‘Goodbye’; second track from debut album

The Sea Within – the new art-rock collective comprising of Roine Stolt(Transatlantic, The Flower Kings), Daniel Gildenlöw (Pain of Salvation), Jonas Reingold (Steve Hackett, The Flower Kings, Karmakanic, The Tangent), Tom Brislin (Yes Symphonic, Renaissance, Spiraling, Deborah Harry) & Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, Steven Wilson, UK, Joe Satriani) – have announced that their debut self-titled album will be released on June 22nd, 2018.

‘Goodbye’ is the second single taken from the album, and for this track, Casey McPherson of Flying Colors takes the lead on vocals. You can listen now here:

Roine Stolt comments: “One of the great groovy ‘collaborative’ tracks on our album. We go down the ‘funk’ route here – but with strong melody hooks. Originally presented by Jonas Reingold, but all the band helped in writing, shaping & bringing this song to life in the London studio.
Casey McPherson added his soulful voice to this “breakup drama” – a bit of “real life story” in a music genre that seldom dwells in reality. It promises to be a great live track.”

Watch a video for the first single, ‘Ashes of Dawn’, here: https://youtu.be/nIAQZiSPAHM

The album has been receiving some great reviews already, find a few of them below:
“a highly impressive but diverse voyage” – The Prog Report
“The Sea Within looks likely to be the prog album of the year” – Sonic Abuse
“this just may become a contender for your favorite progressive-rock album of the year.” – Sonic Perspectives

Let’s get one thing straight from the start. The Sea Within is more of an amalgamation of some serious talents, than a regular “supergroup”. These musicians have come together to create a unique album.  Guitarist/vocalist Roine Stolt, bassist Jonas Reingold, keyboard player/vocalist Tom Brislin, drummer/vocalist Marco Minnemann and vocalist/guitarist Daniel Gildenlöw have a vast reservoir of experience. Look at the portmanteau of artists with who they’ve worked: The Flower Kings, Transatlantic, Jon Anderson, Steven Wilson,The Aristocrats, Joe Satriani, Yes, Steve Hackett, Renaissance, Pain Of Salvation, Deborah Harry, Meatloaf, Karmakanic … that of itself tells you this is something very special.

“I suppose it all began to take shape in the autumn of 2016,” explains Stolt. “I had a chat with Thomas Waber, the boss at InsideOut Music, about the idea of putting together a new band.  I wanted to move in a fresh direction with new collaborations. So Thomas gave me the ‘go ahead’ to seek musicians for a new project.”
First on-board was  The Flower Kings bass player Jonas Reingold.- “He is a long time bandmate and friend and we were also very keen to get keyboardist Tom (Brislin) involved – after seeing his synth pyrotechnics with legends Yes ‘Symphonic’ and with Camel. Then we have been a fans of ‘Aristocrats’ drummer Marco for a long time; I first heard of him 15 years ago and he is a brilliant drummer, unique energy. Then when we discussed ideas for singers, Daniel’s name came up, he has such a great range and dynamic voice and we’ve worked together on and off over the years.” Also added later to the bands line-up for live shows was vocalist & guitarist Casey McPherson of ‘Flying Colors’ & ‘Alpha Rev’, who also sings a couple of songs on the album.

The entire recording situation took about six months, and the band also have some very special guests featured on the album.We have got Jordan Rudess from Dream Theater playing piano on one song. The legendary Jon Anderson sings on another track, while ‘wind ace’ Rob Townsend, who plays saxophone and flute with Steve Hackett, is also on the record. Each of them brings a different flavour to the music.”

“People have asked me how I would describe what we have done, and it is almost impossible. I would have to say it sounds like…us, ‘The Sea Within’. Our tastes are very eclectic – from prog to jazz to classical, to heavy rock, folk, punk, electronica and pop. We all come from a different background – so here everything goes.This has been about putting those diverse influences into the music. I feel you will hear all that’s good about pop – with great melodies and hooks – plus the rawness of metal, improvisations, symphonic and movie soundtracks. We also left room for each of us to take off on flights of instrumental jamming. That was the basic idea, anyway. But until we all got together, we had no idea where it would lead or if it would actually work.”
The band have ended up recording close to two hours of music, and will be releasing it all in June on what will be a self-titled album.

The album will be available as a special edition 2CD digipak, gatefold 2LP vinyl + 2CD & as digital download.
Pre-order now here: www.insideoutmusicshop.com

You can find the full track listing below:
Disc 1:

1.Ashes of Dawn
2.They Know My Name
3.The Void
4.An Eye for an Eye for an Eye
6.Sea Without
7.Broken Cord
8.The Hiding of the Truth
Disc 2:
1.The Roaring Silence
2.Where Are You Going?

As mentioned, The Sea Within has recently announced their debut live date, taking to the stage at Night of the Prog Festival 2018 at Loreley, Germany on the weekend of 13-15th July 2018. They have also recently been confirmed to appear on Cruise to the Edge 2019.



INSIDEOUTMUSIC Spotify Playlist: