Moron Police release Captain Awkward Music Video from the ​new album A Boat on the Sea

Check out the video for the genre-defying single “Captain Awkward” here:

Re-emerging from the primordial soup of modern music, Moron Police return with “A Boat on the Sea” in the hopes of offering something different to those who would listen.  Having formed in 2008, their career has seen many strange twists along the path to its release. They’ve played live with a full-piece orchestra, had one of their songs performed across the US by the award-winning Los Alamitos Show Choir, performed across Scandinavia and at various popular festivals (Hove, Norway Rock Festival, by:Larm), even on a small island with a lighthouse, trapped in the maw of the ocean.

“A Boat on the Sea” is many things. Catchy and adventurous, but with an underlying current of Scandinavian melancholy—as perfectly captured by returning cover artist DULK. It has huge choruses, rampant guitar play, inventive synths, a plethora of time-signature changes—all the workings of an album of excess, yet it comes together to form a cohesive whole.  Perhaps its most defining feature is that it sounds like Moron Police and no-one else, and no manner of superlative spluttering could really hope to capture its spirit. The best way to describe it would be to hear it.

The album is already getting great reviews:

“It’s a rare album, one that makes you play air guitar or keyboards while grinning stupidly in blissful joy.” – Sonic Perspectives’

“I honestly cannot remember having this much fun listening to a record in a very long time.” – The Prog Report

1. Hocus Pocus (1:20)
2. The Phantom Below (4:12)
3. The Invisible King (4:05)
4. Beware the Blue Skies (4:11)
5. The Dog Song (3:20)
6. Captain Awkward (5:12)
7. The Undersea (3:27)
8. Isn’t It Easy (6:57)

The album was released on August 16th, 2019 and is available now on BandCamp:

Band Members:
Sondre Skollevoll – Vocals, guitars, additional keyboards
Lars Bjørknes – Keyboards, grand piano, Hammond organ
Thore Omland Pettersen – Drums
Christian Fredrik Steen – Bass

Moron Police online: 

Moron Police Announce new album, “A Boat on the Sea”!

It’s been a long process and a lot of fun, mixed in the U.S by Mike Watts and VuDu Studios, mastered by Dag Erik Nygaard and cover art painstakingly painted on canvas by our favorite artist, Dulk — we’re so happy to finally be able to share it with you! 

The album will be released on the 16th of August, and we’ll have one more single for you before that! 

We hope you’re all as excited for this as we are, and please help us out by presaving/preordering (digital) the album however you want! 

1. Hocus Pocus
2. The Phantom Below
3. The Invisible King 
4. Beware the Blue Skies 
5. The Dog Song
6. Captain Awkward 
7. The Undersea 
8. Isn’t It Easy 

Band Members
Sondre Skollevoll – vocals, guitars, other things
Thore Pettersen – drums, percussion,
Lars Bjørknes – Keys. 
Christian Steen – Bass

Claudia Grace Cox – violin 
Jonas Flemsæter Hamre – Saxophone 
Morten Norheim – Saxophone
Heine Bugge – Accordion (and eternal laughter)