Rise Twain launch video for “Prayers”

Philadelphia- duo Rise Twain released their debut self-titled album last year on InsideOutMusic. The union of Brett William Kull (producer, audio engineer, and member of Echolyn, Grey Eye Glances, and Francis Dunnery’s New Progressives) and J.D. Beck (The Scenic RouteBeck-Fields, author & playwright) bring their collective years of direct and varied experience in writing, performing and recording music together for their impressive first album.

The band comments: “Prayers is an elegy for love to come down from a forbidden height, to call from the night, to remember, wake, and live again. It sings a desperate melody to the lost so that they may find their way home.”

The band’s debut has received some fantastic reviews, find some of the reactions below:

“awe-inspiring” – Prog Magazine

“a calming richness and subtle eloquence” – Louder Than War

“there’s no shortage of talent in this band” – Powerplay

“if you only listen to one new album this year then I implore you to make it this one.” – The Prog Report 

The album is available to order on Limited CD Digipak, 180g Black Vinyl LP + CD & as digital album here: https://risetwain.lnk.to/RiseTwain

Listen to some previously released tracks below:
‘Oh This Life’: https://youtu.be/XUWr1Vyg180
‘Golden’: https://youtu.be/15NnJ32GKfs
‘Everspring’: https://youtu.be/bsZu4GCRnrw

The track-listing is as follows:
1.     Everspring
2.     Golden
3.     The Range
4.     Lit Up
5.     Death of Summer
6.     Oh This Life
7.     Prayers
8.     Falling Skies
9.     Into A Dream
10.  That Is Love

Talking of how the duo came together: “I produced an album for J.D.’s original band, The Scenic Route”, says Kull, describing his first meeting with Beck in 2007. “They were a rocky, progressive kind of band, like a Jeff Buckley kind of thing. I was immediately drawn to his vocals. He’s such a strong singer.” Kull says he and Beck immediately hit it off, what he describes as an “inevitable connection.”

Adds Beck, “I just knew I had to work with Brett on a higher level. When I came in to cut the vocals on the Scenic Route album, the way we worked together…some people you just gel with, and then some people you have a barrier with. Brett and I gelled.” They spoke of one day collaborating on their own project, which finally surfaces as Rise Twain.

Discussing the album’s musical direction, Beck notes, “There’s not a typical structural theme that we use over and over and over. ‘Organic’ is a word that comes to mind. Seeking openness through simplicity and allowing the complexity of music to exist without the necessity of overly packing it or overly processing it. With that we were able to achieve such a broad spectrum of sound, and a colossal sense of its existence, without having to have a billion guitars and a billion things put over top. There’s some colouring with strings and other embellishments, but it really is something very simple and stripped down, and it’s awesome.”

Kull adds, “There’s a lot of complexity in this, but it’s not overt in the least bit. But yet, when you get into it, there’s all this really rich harmonic and dynamic stuff going on.”

J.D. Beck: Piano, lead and backing vocals
Brett William Kull: Guitars, bass, keys, percussion, lead and backing vocals

RISE TWAIN online:


INSIDEOUTMUSIC Spotify Playlist: 

Featured Album of The Week // Open Skies Exploding // Brett William Kull


Track Listing

1. My House is Loud 05:23
2. Three Walls 02:48
3. Dublin Rooftops 04:16
4. Hard Dying Time 06:22
5. Railroad Self 02:27
6. Punch of the Day 04:19

Songs released  between December 24th 2016 thru January 2017. Third solo album from Brett William Kull

All music and lyrics by Brett William Kull (copyright 2016) except where noted Produced, arranged, played, sung, recorded, mixed and mastered by Brett Kull except where noted.

Mixed and mastered at Catapult Sound

Album cover photo by Wm Schwartz ~ Dec 2016


About Brett William Kull
Brett  is a multi-instrumentalist, singer-songwriter, producer, and engineer from the United States. He is best known for being a founding member of the band Echolyn, and long standing member of Grey Eye Glances. Brett is also an adjunct college instructor sharing his love for audio engineering and sound design.Follow Brett: